Pangea - Jurassic Park Theme Tribute

“Pangea” is my submission for the Jurassic Park Music Contest.

It was fun (and challenging) listening to the original and then writing themes in a similar vein, trying to match the emotion. I made the orchestration a JW-like as possible to help match the tone. Fortunately this was one JW score I studied before. I went through a phase a few years ago listening to many of his soundtracks and studying his orchestrations. He is quite a genius and his work ethic an inspiration!

I hope you enjoy listening to my piece as much as I had fun writing it.

(Suggest changing settings in YouTube to 1080p for optimal video viewing)

Brandon Walker

8 Likes

Very nicely done! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

1 Like

Thank you Randy. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Brandon

That was great Brandon! It did have a Williams-esque sound to it and I thought you kept the “noble/adventure” spirit of the piece really well.

1 Like

Very nice indeed. What a great version. :+1: :+1: :+1: :+1: :+1:

1 Like

Really enjoyed this, loved your original themes. There’s nothing I could really say in terms of mixing advice etc except some of the soloists were a touch loud. I think that’s just a taste thing though.

One small thought though.
I thought we had to use the themes from the track that Mikael linked us too :laughing: sorry to say that as I love the piece.

1 Like

very good arrangement and very close to the feel and sound of
Jurassic Park Themes by John Williams. I suppose, Some harmonic changes are
inspired by the original work of Williams and your work is an orchestral piece also as the
original.

1 Like

Thanks Geoffrey!

Maybe I’m wrong, but I thought we were to write original music that captured the emotion and spirit of the JPT and not do a rescore (of themes).