My top 10 composer tips for orchestral music

Hey all!

Introductions first,
My names Geoff, and I’m a composer and studio producer based in north wales. I’ve been composing for well over 10 years and have a professional background in the creation and production of music. I thought I would share with you my top tips for composing a piece of music.

1. First create a piano reduction.
Often we can get bogged down with one or two aspects of writing music, this forces us to sometimes get fixated on that section, chord progression or musical phrase. By writing our idea on a piano or keyboard instrument we can block out the important bits of our piece. Which brings me to my next tip.

2. Nothing is more important than the musical motif (melody, main idea) and the bass line.
Chords are great, they provide the harmonic content that we need in our piece which solidified the emotive context while also emphasising our cadential phrasings (this is the harmony that states wether the phrase is starting, stopping, moving to something else or changing key), but this is by far not the most important aspect of a composition, despite it often being the inspiration for the piece we are working on. I would always argue that the main thematic idea (no matter how complex or simple) should always be the star, closely followed by the Bass line which along with your percussion provide the foundation or bed for your composition.An excellent example of this would be John Williams Main Star Wars theme. If you were to take all the harmonic stuff out it would still be mm a strong piece because he crafted the two most important aspects first.

3. In the orchestra the strings are often the most iconic part. Use them wisely.