Two very different orchestras!

Hey there fellow composers, so I wanted to share with you my two last orchestras I made and wanted to get some honest feedback and advice about the two as I am new to composing orchestral, and which one you preferred. For the two, I’ve mostly used VSCO2 Orchestra. The next ones that will be posted will use Spitfire’s free VSTs and The Free Orchestra.

The first one is closer to a classical piece and has influences from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons at the beginning with the string tremolos and then it is more like a normal classical ensemble with the piccolo used for the main melody. The chord progressions change during the whole piece and therefore does not have a main theme. At a moment you may notice I also took a small inspiration from Beethoven’s 7th Symphony beautiful - somewhat mysterious and melancholic - chords. Overall it has a light feel and has some darkness but not that much you tell me. I’ve tried to balance sadness and relief.

Here’s the link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8fAoIbcb2k

For the second one I wanted it to look more like a cinematic with percussion and drums to give it a more epic feel, though I wouldn’t call this epic music. However I wasn’t so proud about the percussion if you have any advice about that would love to hear some. You’ll notice there’s a very low double bass playing the D# note throughout nearly the whole piece and I put it to make it more stressful with the overlay of short crisp strings. I called it ‘Uprising’ by thinking it could portray the rise of an army marching back after a defeat. There’s a louder moment where it could be the two armies face to face and the sadder moments for when the two leaders discover each other.

Here’s the link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T53OjPxZ-J8

Alexis

1 Like