This Is How We Begin -- my entry for Tom Holkenborg/Orchestral Tools Full-Contact Competition

Just finished this today. Holy cow did this cue push me past my limits! I did so many things on this one that I’ve never done before, it has literally changed me.

The competition brief says to compose a short piece for a post-apocalyptic future world where spoken language has been replace by drums as the main form of communication. Orchestral tools gives you a sample pack from Tom Holkenborg’s drum library which you have to use. The samples sound epic, but I was at first a little disappointed that there were only 8 total drums in the pack. Then I thought of a use for that limitation. Since this society speaks with drums, I could invent a drum language. I used the 8 drums to represent 8 different ideas. Then I combined the drums into pairs and assigned a new idea to the pair that I thought made sense. Then I went 3 deep and assigned new ideas to each triplet. This gave me a language with an almost 400 word vocabulary.

I used this language to determine which drums would play at any particular time. I imagined a conversation between 2 tribe leaders trying to end a war. I wrote out the conversation and then translated it into the drum language and used this as a chart to build the composition.

This specified the drums, but not yet the rhythm. For that I recorded myself speaking the lines of the conversation into a track. Then I listed back and tried to imagine rhythms that I felt represented each line’s cadence. Then I recorded my own voice “singing” the rhythms into a new track. Then I grabbed a couple general drum kits as temporary drums and I played in the rhythms that I had just sung. Finally, I moved the drum hits to the appropriate drums in the template I had set up with all the drum types that went along with the drum language.