Mastering the tracks. Start with the "same" volume level

Hi guys,

I know that I’m not a master engineer, but I need to know whta I write in the topic title.

I mean, I’m creating my audio reel and my tracks start with differente volume. Listen the example of on of my track: https://soundcloud.com/carlo-tuzza/sets/my-hero-the-last-mission

For example the track called READY - STEADY - Bang as a differente volume compared to the others…

How can I fix it, maybe they can’t start all at -0,3 db. But my focus is to don t let the client turn down or up the volume knob while listening my reel.

I use logic and izotope ozone 8.

Thank you :smiley:

This is a complicated matter, especially when combining different genres…

Level is one thing, and I’d consider the loudest part of each track first. You don’t want a dynamic orchestral track that can and should be played loud, followed by an aggressively maximized metal track that will burn the listener’s ears in ten seconds, obviously. Similarly, quiet pieces (like your “The Last Chapter”) will simply have to be quiet; you can’t master them with the loudest part as reference, because it will sound like the volume is suddenly much louder.

However, that brings is to the next problem: Dynamic range. If you set the gain of these aforementioned imaginary orchestral and metal tracks so that they’re both comfortably listenable at the same volume level, you’re probably going to end up with the loudest transients of the hybrid track being louder than any part of the metal track. (Which is perfectly fine. Some loud orchestral hits are fine, but constant guitar chugging at that same level will be painful.) Even so, this will not work when listening on low volume; the metal track will be fine, but the quiet parts of the orchestral track will be almost inaudible. Basically, it’s all non-linear, and no mix/master will work great on any playback volume.