Jurassic Park Cover

Here is my submission for the Jurassic Park Cover Contest (OneDrive link).

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AthV_8hBKsg8dDqbsbYoup-O-e0?e=IfrBeA

I enjoyed creating this cover as I had a chance to experiment with rhythms, harmonies and instrumentation. I hope you enjoy it.

Jen

3 Likes

Hi Jen, I like your transitions and your tempo, you captured the theme and sound real well. Especially like your percussion with the strings. I am not experienced in this style but you did a great job in a difficult genre. Maybe exploring some different libraries for more texture and a fuller sound but the composition and arrangement is great.

1 Like

When I submitted my cover entry for Jurassic Park (link – [https://1drv.ms/u/s!AthV_8hBKsg8dDqbsbYoup-O-e0?e=IfrBeA%206]), I did not include a detailed explanation of my creative process. I found it very interesting to read about everyone else’s process, so here are my thoughts and choices in deciding how to score my cover piece for Jurassic Park.

When I learned that the song for this contest would be Jurassic Park by John Williams, admittedly, I was hesitant to include an entry. How could I attempt to alter a song from a talented composer like John Williams let alone the theme for Jurassic Park that has such rich harmonies and masterful orchestrations? After convincing myself to just “try” it, I decided that my song needed to have some contrast to the original–different genre, different instruments, new rhythms, but, of course, the recognizable theme intact.

For past several weeks, I have been listening to a lot of alternative rock songs from the 80’s (e.g., Depeche Mode, New Order, Erasure), songs with heavy synthesized sounds and fast tempo ranges (140 bpm to 150 bpm). This gave me some ideas about how I would compose my cover. For my composition, I chose the key of G, meter of 4/4 and selected the beginning tempo of 140 bpm, which is increased at the mid-point to 150 bpm.