Inspiration Outside The Box

A few years ago my wife picked up the accordion (she already plays clarinet, piano, bass, guitar, flute, sax, French horn … you get the picture). I somewhat dismissed the accordion but she insisted on bellowing in the basement for hours on end.

She took me to a concert by a local artist / group (Dan Newton and the Cafe Accordion Orchestra). I didn’t expect much but was blown away by an entire spectrum of music I had overlooked. Musettes, kumbias, ethnic music from around the world. (BTW - DO check out Dan and the group … great, great stuff!)

It dawned on me how isolated I was in my musical viewpoint. The only difference between a groove and a grave are the dimensions. As a composer I want to be aware of all this not just be boxed into my own world.

QUESTION: Where do you turn for inspiration on new genres, sounds, etc? Do you consciously seek those places out? On a regular or sporadic basis? How do you go about assimilating and incorporating these ideas into your own writing?

Use both sides of the paper if necessary, as my old high school teachers would’ve said.

I look forward to reading your thoughts and experiences!

Take care!

Stan

Hey Stan,

Great topic! Yeah, we often usually stick to our favourite music and forget there are other genres. I had a similar experience to yours in which an Argentinean friend told me he was a fan of tango, and was amazed by how good it was! I think the best way to discover genres is probably to interact with other people about music and you’ll perhaps find surprises!
Anyways, here are links to tango music by Argentinean composer Astor Piazolla:

Adios Nonino: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTPec8z5vdY
Invierno Porteno (amazing and close to classical music) : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vhv3yP7dKSY

Regards,

Alexis

1 Like

Thanks, Alexis! Loved the links! Looks like a few more tangos go on my playlist! Thanks for sharing!

Here are just a couple favorites from Dan Newton. Enjoy!