First Gig Scoring a Short film...QUESTIONS!

Hello everybody,

So, as you may have read in my introduction post, I am 21 and still have not gotten into the scoring scene other than doing practice scenes on my own.
Yesterday, a friend of mine called me and told me that him and a team of film makers are making a short film (20 minutes) and they want me to write the music for it. Yay!

As excited as I am for it, I am also slightly terrified because I have never done this before in this way.
My questions have nothing to do with the specifics of writing music, but are more about the logistics of scoring someones film.
Here they are:

1. Assuming there is no sound mixer for the film, what are some techniques you guys use to mix in your music into the film?

2. Do you guys have any tips for developing a theme in a short film? There is much less time to do it, but it can still be done.

3. Assuming the film is 15-20 minutes, how long should I say I need to complete the music? (I know this is mainly up to my own speed in writing music, but should I give my self a bit of wiggle room in case the director requests some scenes to be redone?)

Thats it for now. I would appreciate any help and words of advice you guys have!

Thanks,

Ryan Stella

Hi Ryan,
First of all, congratulations on your first gig! :slight_smile:

To answer your questions:

1. Always write music around dialogue to make sure you don’t interfere with it. You’ll have to deliver a 24-bit 48kHz .wav file or a ProTools session depending on what they ask you to do. Ask the production on what they expect you to give them.

2. For thematic material, ask the director in which music direction they want to go, if there are any references they’re looking for. Once you understand the style they want, you can write a theme that sets the general mood of the film. Try to write a theme that’s very memorable for the main theme.