Writing for string quartet- live to picture

Hi everyone.
I have an upcoming project to write for a string quartet that will be playing live to picture.

1. Can anyone share their experience writing for string quartet?
  2. Can anyone share their experience writing for string quartet with a live to picture performance?

Any do’s or don’ts will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Tony

Hi @tony22,

unfortunately, I have no idea how “experienced” you are, so maybe my experience is what you already know. However, it’s still good to know what other have experienced as well.

To be true, it’s not exactly specific for “strings”, but I will write down my general thoughts about live played stuff.

So, I remember during my studies back then, I had the pleasure to write for a small orchestra. Unfortunately, no strings were included. Piano, brass section, woods, percussion…The first thing which comes to my mind is to really know the instruments, the ranges, the playing techniques, literally everything. If you start to write, you can’t know everything from the beginning obviously, but a good starting point is to check out some great musicians online, solo interpreters, and take a good look on what is actually possible. (Here you see “how far” you can really go with your composition.)