What is your Day Job?

I was just thinking it would be fun to learn what we all do for our “day job”? :slight_smile:

I’ll start:
So I run my own business, focusing mainly on teaching/education in the realm of music/audio.

5 Likes

I’m a senior developer, specializing in low level programming (engines, device drivers, realtime, embedded), currently working with network appliances intended for congestion control, subscriber management and various other tasks.

I was doing game development and contract work full time for a few years, until I dropped the increasingly time consuming contract work for a full time job. I never really returned to programming outside of my day job, though, which pretty much meant the end of my custom engine based projects. The “business” now essentially consists of me honing my music and art skills, while investigating less code intensive game development solutions. Plugin development may also happen, but mostly for my own personal use.

5 Likes

I’m a carpenter and entrepreneur. I build most things from fine carpentry to houses. Anything in wood. I love music but I also love wood. I would not manage without a physical job. And even better that makes music composing something to look forward to all the time.

5 Likes

Curious, did you build your own music studio yourself? :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yes I did. But I promise it’s nothing special. Built it with left overs from kitchen renovation.

3 Likes

I’m soon gonna build a studio desk for a customer I’ll post it when it’s done.

1 Like

Kitchen tops are amazing for desks (IKEA hacks). I got one myself for my studio makeover I did a few weeks ago. :wink:

3 Likes