Videogame Music from a Game Developer Point of View

Hello everyone!

When I registered in the community some days ago I wrote that I am an Indie Game Developer in training and my goal here is to learn how to compose my own music and to understand how music composers work so that, if I should ever collaborate with one, I would understand what he is doing.

I’ve been told that it would be interesting to hear something about how a game developer “thinks” about music compositions so… even tho I’m really no expert yet and I’ve mostly done simple “game jams” games, I tought I might as well try and share some insight on the subject.

1. SHORT LOOPING DURATION

Most of the times, unless we’re talking about very big productions, developers like the music for the game to be short.

We’re talking about 30 seconds to 2 minutes long.

For retro style games for example, a simple town theme could easely be a 30 second loop repeating itself… a lot of times more than 2 minutes is kinda considered “too much”… but of course this is something that can be talked about with the team.

The important thing is that it needs to be perfectly loopable. That usually means no “Introduction” or “ending” sequences because it would break the “rhytm” of the game up.

2. PROCEDURAL

This probably isn’t the right terminology for what I want to talk about (language barriers are a bad thing) BUT I’ll do my best to explain.

In games were there is an alternating of calm and action moments many developers like their music to “adjust” to the situation. This is quite hard to do as the transition between “calm” and “action” usually needs to be flawless but it can be achieved.

From what I know so far (I’ll definitly look into it more in the future) this is achieved by having two musical pieces playing at the same time BUT one, usually the calm one, has the volume up while the other, the action one, usually has the volume at 0.