That Orchestral Sound

I was wondering, and I would like to really hear what’s on the minds of composers. When you compose, what is the “sound” you’re looking for. The reason I’m asking is because it seems like everybody (not just on this site) is composing that big, sort of, “Game of Thrones” big battle/opening theme sound. What are other sounds you hear, or compose, that leans towards other styles, but can still have a orchestral sound.? I’m not knocking, criticizing, or complaining. I’m just curious about who’s doing Orchestral composing but has other creative ides. Again…this is not a knock on what anybody is doing. I’m just curious about how vast orchestral composing can be.

3 Likes

hi,
it is a good question
well i my case, i am not a pro, each composition has a different color and orchestration, you can have only a piano with string, or a big full classic orchestra, it depend on your composition
by exemple when i have made the cover of the trailler of star wars rise of the skywalker, i try to have an orchestration near the original for that i study the original full score of star wars, and reading the scoring and listening to check and see how John williams create his color, i have done the same with stravinsky for the firebird, and other gret classical piece from mozart, bach, brahms, and so on
i never find a course explaining clearly how to build a specific color with the classical instrument, you can find course on instrumentation to learn about instruments, but there is no course that explain if you put a clarinet with a flute it sound like this, or if you have a tuba with a trombone and a double bass it is sounds like this
the main problem for me is to find the color, you can consider that each instrument is a single color, and like a painter you had to mix them to get a different color but it is very hard to define with a high level of accuracy the color you want