Scoring Tools - You Opinion

I have some scoring tools libraries that contain pre-mixed instrumental loops. I am sure there are clauses in the library license that have the standard “you cannot use these sounds alone”, “You must add enough original content to produce a new work” blah blah blah.

So obviously I can use these however I like as long as the work becomes “mine”. However, I feel like this is “cheating” to use these. Maybe this topic has already been discussed, but I’d be curious to hear others’ views.

I don’t see it as cheating because that libraries wouldn’t exist if it weren’t meant to be used.
But I I understand the feeling of: Is this my composition?
I have the same feeling often when I compose. When I listen to what I have done I tend to think is this really mine or have I subconsciously picked this up from somewhere else.
But I’m not a pro so I just ignore the feeling.

That’s exactly how I feel! Possibly meandering off the topic a bit - I always run my melodies through musipedia to see if perhaps it is similar to an existing work. Not sure how extensive their library is, but other than hiring a musicologist :open_mouth: I don’t know where else to check.

I guess you’re correct about the loops just being another tool to hasten the writing process. I guess if drum loops are acceptable, so too are the instrumental loops.

Never heard of this tool. Is it reliable?

For the record, I have made compositions in the past many times that people commented something like “oh I see you are inspired by X or Y”. When I know that I have NEVER heard those tracks ever before. It’s just so much music out there that your track will always be comparable to something else for some listeners. :stuck_out_tongue:

3 Likes

Afaik it is reliable, although I’ve never done any real “calibration” tests with it. It is online, so you should be able to try it out here: http://musipedia.org