Needed help in mixing

Hello guis. I wanted to share a composition with you. There is something wrong that I want to fix, especially in the crescendo, and I need some helps and feedback to improve it.

Genre/Style: Emotional digital orchestra

Creative Vision for the Track: inspired in a moment before a great space battle Among the stars.

Composition Details (Tempo, Key, Main Chords etc): G# track in 100 bpm with some modulation in Phrygian F.

Main Instruments used: Strings vst from Kontakt, Morphestra, action strike, Giant Piano, Kontakt Brasses and winds, Vocalize Gravity pact.

7 Likes

I am not an expert on mixing. But I think one thing that struck me was the balance of the instruments - especially between violins and low end. The pulse is sometimes lost because the low end is not present enough. Sometimes the heights seemed too bright. That’s exactly what happens in the crescendo. The balance is lost.
I hope my amateurish impressions are helpful.

Very nice piece, Marco! I believe you captured the emotions (e.g. tension, angst, anticipation) very well in the composition!

I agree that the piece seems to be somewhat dynamically static. I read your statement before listening and I wasn’t entirely clear where the crescendo you were referring to was to have happened. Can you give us a time box (e.g. 1:00-1:35, etc) so we can be a bit more specific?

I would address the crescendo issues overall through orchestration. Save the big drums for midway through the piece or later. Achieve the crescendo by adding instruments and orchestral weight. The pulsing drum figure could be carried in smaller drums doubled with low strings or perhaps low brass.

As far as the mix I’m far from an expert but here are my initial thoughts:

• I would think about perhaps using a little side chain compression on the backgrounds behind the melodic lines so they duck down a bit.