Memories of the Past

This is my first time joining a contest in here.

I had to cope up with my lack of instruments so I decided to go for piano and some orchestral sounds.

I got some inspiration from “The Crysis”, from the movie 8 pounts for the repeating piano parts… and went on using choir and a solo vocal track because one of Morricone’s signature points in music was the use of vocals as instruments.

I tried to compose this piece thinking as an use inside a movie or game soundtrack, of course since the theme was “nostalgia” I tried to imagine a scene with memories, mainly sad ones, but also some better ones and that’s translated (at least I hope) in some moments of a little more “sad smile” moments.

It was composed in the key of C Minor.

4 Likes

Very good track Luca! This would have fit well in the Sad Music Contest as well. The solo female voice was very Morricone and was well placed I think, as was the harmonic voice leading. My personal taste would have been to rallentando the piano at the outro and let it ring until it decays.

1 Like

Thanks, glad you’re liking it :slight_smile:

I really didn’t think of that… but you’re probably right it would have sounded nice, that’s something I’ll have to keep in mind for the future :slight_smile:

Hi Luca - congrats on your first contest here! The tone and mood of the piece worked well, as did your instrument type choices.

The repeating string chord sound (note releases?) seemed artificial to me and distracted me more than it probably should. On the other hand, this sound made me feel a bit uneasy, and maybe that is what you were going after.