How to create your Professional Brand as an Artist

Hello Composers and Artists, Mike here. And in this article I want to share some of the most important aspects of branding, for your professional career in music.

First, who am I? Well, my name is Mike, and I am a composer, sound designer and artist like you! I am also the founder of professionalcomposers.com, and I have even worked with branding as one of my main roles in another business I was in a couple of years ago.

But more importantly, I have personally learned and experienced the practical benefits of having a professional brand, both as a business and your own personal brand. And now I want to share some of the most important aspects of branding, for your professional career in music.

Create your Professional Brand

Let me start out blunt: your music can be of amazing quality, but if you neglect the business aspect of your career, you miss the biggest potential for your success. And the foundation of every business is…your brand. And this means both your professional brand, as well as your personal brand. Let’s dive into the subject of branding and see if there are things you miss out on, or could improve.

The Power of First Impression

Let’s be honest, people judge the book by its cover. And yes, what you wear and how you look will make a difference in the way people see you. The first impression is incredibly important in everything you do, and every type of content you put out for the world to see, or even private communication with people in the music industry.

What is Branding?

Branding is the complete packaging of everything you do, and everything you communiticate out to the world. From the products you create, to the visuals/images you use, to the words you write, the graphicals elements including your logotype, the design and so on.

What do you need for Your Brand?