How to Compose trying to represent something specific

Hello Everyone!

Iìve been studying and practicing composition a lot lately following both Mike courses and a couple others (mainly because I felt I needed some more “basic” composition knowledge before going straight into Mike assignments).

I’m having some troubles so I tought I’d ask for some advice.

As you can tell… I’m a beginner.

After some studying I can “kind” of create something now (and well… it’s a great step up from not beeing able to compose a single thing just a couple months ago) BUT I can’t seem to find a way not to make my composition completly random.

I’ll make an example here:

Perhaps I would like to create a theme for a game character. So I go and create a whole document on the character himself writing down personality traits etc… I can also program the musical piece knowing that I wont it to, let’s say start slow, get higher and higher with more energy and then have a pacific and calm ending after the highest climax (just an example).

The thing is I can’t find a way to translate the ideas and the planning into music.

I can create “stuff” but I can never relate what I compose to what I would like it to rapresent for me.

Perhaps you guys have some “hints” about this issue thanks to your experience? I know you don’t really do games in here but I guess it is the same for movies, trailers, etc? :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot,

Luca

1 Like

Hey Luca!

You just need to learn music theory.

Start with learning you major and minor scales.

Major - Happy

Minor - Sad

After this I’d then learn what emotions the intervals (distance between two notes) create.

For instance:
major 4th - triumphant/heroic/magical (superman theme)
Major 2nd - love/nostalgia/calm (Alien Resurrection theme)
Major 6th - grand/flowing (the NBC Theme)
Major 7th - tension/rising/ (Maria - Guys and dolls)

I’ve give. Some examples to study too but here’s a good article to learn these.