How do you practice?

There are so many things we need to improve our skills in as composers: performance skills on piano/keyboard, perhaps guitar and other instruments, composition and arranging skills, production and sound design, mixing and mastering. And of course music theory, ear training etc.

How do you practice to evolve as a composer (in every aspect)?
Do you have any special routines or exercices?

2 Likes

Well… I’m buying a lot of book and for expample if I’m studying secondary dominant chords… well I try to practice in the piano… and maybe record it so I can see what’s wrong and what is good…

sometimes there are great ideas that comes from exercise, I have composed a song called “Garden of Eden” when I was studying the F maj scale :smile:

2 Likes

hello
well i try to compose a lot to devellop creativity and imagination
i try to practice a lot on my daw in order to go faster when composing
i try also to try and play with a lot of different sound, virtual synth or instrument to discover new color in order to use them in my composition
a listen a lot of music (classical with score to understand how the composer create a mood or a specific color by example sherazade, 6th symphonie of bethoveen, 25th symphony of mozart, the walkiry of wagner, the nutscracker, romeo and juliet, the sorcerer apprentice) and also film music ( jerry goldsmith, bernard herman, hans zimmer, john williams, peter goldstein, ennio moriconne,…)
reading a lot also, watch tutorial, read topics in forum, read score to maintain a good level of reading music
but all of that take a lot of time, but anyway you had to practice a lot to keep your level and progress

2 Likes

My current “routine” basically comes down to trying out different genres and styles, and actually finishing tracks. Composition, sound design, arrangement, mix, master. It doesn’t count until it’s done, and the reasoning behind that is that I want to see how the things I try work in context.