East West Opus Edition coming...should we be excited?

I just learned that East West is going to do a huge update of the Hollywood Orchestra range, called Opus edition. I have limited experience with their older libraries, so I want to hear what you think about this update? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Mike
As a beginner composer I have been using the EW libraries on everyday basis for about one year now and to be honest the amount of articulation sets they have on each orchestra section is incredible.I am super excited to find out that a new release is on its way.
I also happen to know that these so called old libraries are still the back bone of some highly profiled professional composers scoring for picture etc.
I am aware of what’s on the market today of course and that you in particular have quite a vast array of libararies at your disposal :slight_smile: which is great but having EW under your finger tips can reveal a lot of hidden precious jams in the articulation world which up to date not a lot of libraries have.
They also blend great with other great sample libraries like Cinematic Studio Strings 2 for example or CineBrass etc.
Even on the percussion side Storm Drum2 is still great to use with all the Dragon Ensemble patches and Dead the Beast for example.
I can only recommend :slight_smile: and super excited about the upcoming release
Thank you for sharing
Piece
Alex

3 Likes

Ah that’s nice to hear Alex, I do believe this can be quite a substantial upgrade to the EW bundle. The main reason people have complained about EW before is that their Play engine have had stability issues for many users. I hope they have sorted that out now.

1 Like

I’m a big fan of EastWest, most probably because they were “THE” sample library when I first got into film scoring (other than Vienna, which nobody could afford), and so I’m just super comfortable using their stuff.

Very excited to see what Opus brings!

3 Likes