Dynamic markings to Velocity

Hello everyone!

I need some help with tralnslating dynamic markings to velocity for East West Symphonic Orchestra.

A guy posted a translation from a scoring program (a velocity rule from Notion to EW), but I am feeling a little confused about it.

For example: The velocity for mf was 85, and another source said that the horns timbre should sound “brassy” (instead of soft) when they are playing mf. In EWSO I get to the brassy sound first when I reach 90 and above. So, I am not sure if the velocity translation is incorrect or if the info about brassy sound with mf is incorrect, so I thought I’d check with you guys.

I am new to orchestrations and obviously dynamic markings is an important thing. I’d appreciate any help, tips or tricks for this subject :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Unfortunately, there is absolutely no standard for how MIDI velocity or CC values map to dynamics levels, so this is something that needs to be done by ear, library by library. :confused:

3 Likes

As David says, sadly no standard. Like there is still no standard for articulations and how CCs are mapped etc.

I did make a bit of a cheat sheet to use as reference: How to Compose Music - Dynamics Chart - Professional Composers

3 Likes

Thanks a lot, @olofson and @Mikael ! I appreciate your answers! :slight_smile: And yeah, unfortunatly that was pretty much what I suspected as well.

I usually don’t mind going by ear (since the ear is our best tool), but since I have no experience or reference I’m feeling kinda lost :smiley:
I get that mp should be louder than p and mf louder than mp etc, but I can’t really tell how much louder each marking should be so to speak.

Mike, I guess your dynamic chart is at least a good starting-point (and it actually looks pretty close to the chart I mentioned).