Digital distribution

Hello, I’m new to digital distribution. I know it’s important to have a digital presence if there is to be any chance of being considered for jobs. I’m working on a website and have listed some songs with Songtradr. I only chose that service because someone I recorded for spoke of his successes with them.

What do you think of these services; songtradr, distrokid, cdbaby, etc? It seems they are the only way to get our music distributed but the returns are very low. and I was a little surprised by how small the music library payout could be.

Along these lines; have you heard anything about Kim dot com’s latest project - a distribution service where the owner of the intellectual property retains 100%.

Thanks, cheers,

Fran

I’m on distrokid and so far not made much, but then haven’t had many streams etc, it’s terms of getting it out there though its incredibly easy and straight forward

1 Like

I’ve used CD Baby for many years and can’t complain. I’ve mostly distributed my emotional piano music with them and have had success primarily on Pandora. Although, the success didn’t have anything to do with them. Distributors just get your music to the streaming providers.

I believe Soundtradr is different. I’ve not used them.

1 Like

First, forget Soundtradr! If you want to start right from the start, you need to look for a provider, where you pay only ONCE. I guess it’s CD Baby in first place. One of my students started to use another provider, where she needs to pay every year, and I was like: WHY??? If you have a fan-base of 100+ people, and you know they will buy your CD, so you will make more than 50$ a year, than it will cover the yearly costs. But if you do not have the fans, which will buy your music, you need to stay safe, where you just put 30$ into your music distribution once, and relax after that :wink: