Dealing with Carpal/Cubital Tunnel

Since we spend a lot of time on computers and playing instruments, how may of us have struggled with carpal tunnel or cubital tunnel? If you have, what kinds of things have you done to deal with it?

I’ve recently had this creep up on me, making two of my fingers feel numb or like a funny-bone feeling. I’ve been trying to make sure I’m not bending my elbow too much. But I need to work on making my desk setup better. During the workday, I’m a programmer, so it’s even harder for me to have a time where I can get away from it.

3 Likes

I agree, sitting down so much is a problem. I also have problems already with my elbows from a previous hard labor job I had for 6 years, basically wearing them out. So I really need to think about not bending them too much. I have considered investing in a standing desk to improve my general health.

Taking micro breaks every hour of the day helps. Meaning standing up, do some light stretching, walking around…then go back to work.

3 Likes

sitting down most of the day will not help we all should walk more and try to fit in any physical activity even if a 30 minute walk on a daily basis basically avoid sitting down all day and night. do activities where you’re standing too. even if you have the perfect mouse or chair if you keep repeating the same posture and motions you’re putting stress on these areas so breaking up the patterns of same movements is helpful

3 Likes

I agree Carl, I have been taking daily 30 min walks for the last few years. However, it is still an issue if I sit for the rest of the day. That is why I want to get a standing desk, so I can shift between sitting and standing.

1 Like

that’s right. tina guo the cellist does that too and uses something to kneel on instead of sitting in a hunched position. hope that standing desk works out for your work.

1 Like