Best online instructional courses

Hi Guys

Thought it’d be a good topic to see what courses people have taken and what they recommend.

There’s quite a few for trailer orchestration, courses from thinkspace, evenant etc so if anyone has taken courses from these and can recommend etc I think it would be helpful to people.

1 Like

Great question Ben! :smiley:
So for starters I would be a fool if I did not mention that I have been teaching online courses on music for many years (see above in the top menu “Courses”), or check them here: courses on music composition, production & sound design. :wink:

I have also taken the Evenant course:
Cinematic Music – From idea to Finished Recording

This is a very long and extensive course that goes through all the main aspects of writing cinematic music, and I can 100% recommend it. :slight_smile:

They have a course on Trailer Music composition too, but I haven’t taken it myself so can’t offer any insights there I’m afraid.

I can also highly recommend checking out some courses from a good friend of mine (also member of this community) Jonathan Armanandy @SoundtrackAcad. He is a very good teacher, and explains everything in a clear way. :slight_smile:

Jonathan’s courses on Udemy

Thinkspace I have no experience of at all, but their channel on YouTube is hilarious, and you can but only love that guy running it :stuck_out_tongue:

I have taken an extensive amount of online courses, it depends on what you’re looking to learn.
I can’t recommend enough the two Berklee Online classes:

Each one of them is 12 weeks and is extremely well structured and explained. You need to be disciplined because you have weekly live classes (that are recorded and that you can watch later if you can’t attend) as well as weekly exercises and assignments. I absolutely loved my experience studying with them, one of the best places to learn.