Best Features in Cubase

What are your Favorite Features in Cubase?

Alright so I ask this as a Logic user, not because I am looking to switch DAW, but because I want to know what super mega features I miss out on…so I can push Logic developer team on implementing it :wink:

I use Cubase although I am still learning my way around some advanced features since I switched from FL Studio.

My favorite thing so far is the Expression Map, it basically allows me to create a preset for articulations of any instrument, and integrates them into the piano roll editor without having to worry about keyswitching anymore.

hello
i don’t know if it is my favorite but i like the way in cubase to draw automation it is not only line and plot but it can be curve and i like that you can by example draw a crescendo non linear but exponential like start very slow and suddenly increase to the max level but in real legato
i use is a lot for pan, level, or other automation like filer, resonnace, cutoff, fx

On the UI level, I really like the folder tracks, the ability to colorcode tracks and clips individually, and vertical scale being managed per track, including automation lanes.

On the technical level, being able to basically build your own mixer from tracks, groups, sends, sidechains etc, makes sound design and mixing really smooth. No need to shoehorn things into a hardwired track/group/bus/master structure.

2 Likes

Expression maps by far and followed by disable/enable instrument tracks. With the latest option it gave me the perfect tool to create a large template of single instrument tracks that Cubase also see as sort of audio tracks (I can apply audio fx plugins). With a key command I can quickly enable/disable tracks and gives me a very solid workflow like.
Audiowarp is also a very neat feature if you need to adjust things when working with picture.

2 Likes